Work, Work, Work

Relieving the Boredom
9.16.08 – “Relieving the Boredom” – 83/365

I’ve had two splendid days of work in a row. This is highly unusual and a much needed change (and is generally determined by the people I work with from one day to the next). Today I had a pleasant location change at 5am and went to a private Catholic school about an hour away from the studio.

For those of you who don’t talk to me on a daily basis and hear my horror/work stories, I work for a company that takes yearbook photos. Although I am a photographer, they are up to their eyeballs in them and put me on as cashier during the weekdays. This means I hand thousands of willful teeanagers an index card with an ID barcode and write them a receipt if their parents happen to care enough to buy the pictures.

While the photographers set up I’m usually used as a "model" for testing lighting. This usually results in one of three photos:
1. Big Cheesy Smile
2. Impersonation of Apathetic Teeny-Bopper
3. Obnoxious Facial Expression (which usually mirrors my disdain for how I spend my work days)

Today, however, was fun. Note: that IS a Starburst candy in my mouth, which means we had lovely nuns giving us candy and brownies to sweeten the deal.

Favorite Quotes of the day include:
“Northeast: Cah, cah…” – Christa
“I don’t really know what your meal thing is, but, uh you can just grab another box and fill it with sides.” – Me

Other interesting artifacts seen along the way can be found below:
Relieving the Boredom Part 2Sister SusieLandmark

Eager Beaver
9.15.08 – “Eager Beaver” – 82/365

Casey finally got his new drums in and is beyond excited. Aside from some sketchy snare drum issues (shell not exactly lining up with expensivo heads purchased specifically FOR the drum) the quality is outstanding. I’ll update with specifics on the set later. I also made a cheesy slideshow for your viewing pleasuring of his child-like enthusiasm upon opening the packages.

Belated Birthdayness
9.14.08 – “Belated Birthdayness” – 81/365

Some family were out of town on my birthday so we decided to wait until this weekend to celebrate at my mom’s house. Casey and I drove down and enjoyed home cooked food for once in a long while (chicken cordon bleu and broccoli salad). This pie was made instead of the traditional birthday cake as I am not a big fan of cake to begin with. The candles, so proudly placed by Casey, soon began to melt inside the cherry gooeyness and all that was left after a few minutes (and before the birthday song) were sad, dangly wick stumps. It was delicious, nevertheless, and we took half home to enjoy as a midnight snack. I had a great time and am sad/excited that it was my final Florida birthday. Next stop New Jersey!

More pie goodness can be had below:
Candles on the Pie?Delicious

Leave a Reply

